When Life Gives You Lemons

The health benefits of drinking a glass of warm lemon water a day are many and varied. For years friends, family, born again fitness fanatics, Facebook, Instagram, the Internet and more quietly our instincts, have been urging us to jump on the lemon infused water train. For good reason.

Adding lemon to water is not a new trend; restaurants have been doing it for years and I have been scooping it out for just as long. As my 31st birthday approaches, however, I find myself re-evaluating priorities and it turns out I want to do a better job of maintaining good health. So I purchased a ticket and boarded the lemon infused water train. These are some of the benefits I’m discovering by drinking a glass of lemon water each morning:

Clearer skin – This was one of the first things I noticed. Within 3 days my eyes looked brighter, my skin more hydrated and breakouts cleared up. Lemons are bursting with vitamin C, which helps to repair and regenerate tissues and is essential for collagen production.

lemons 2

Increased metabolism – Research conducted by the Franz-Volhard Clinical Research Centre in Berlin found that drinking 2 litres of water per day boosted metabolism by 30% in both men and women. This means that you are able to break down food faster.

Promotes healing – Ascorbic acid (vitamin C) is an important nutrient in maintaining healthy bones, cartilage and tissues and helps calm inflammations in the body. Potassium, which is also found in lemons, helps improve brain and nerve function. Vitamin P, a flavonoid (namely hesperidin) improves overall blood flow and capillary permeability.

Reduces appetite – Lemons contain pectin, a soluble fibre which makes you feel fuller for longer and less likely to snack between meals.

Aids digestion – A big glass of warm water infused with lemon first thing in the morning flushes the digestive system and rehydrates the body after 8 hours of sleep. Lemon water also helps cleanse the bowels by flushing waste and stimulating the release of gastric juices which also help to improve digestion.

lemons 3

Boosts immune system – Vitamin C is stored in the adrenal glands and when stressed, we use up the vitamin C to produce cortisol and other stress-response hormones. When we run out of vitamin C the adrenal glands panic and produce more cortisol which increases anxiety levels and messes with your blood pressure. This in turn affects your immune system and can make you more susceptible to illness. Lemons are a great source of vitamin C and can help keep our bodies healthy and balanced.

It takes approximately 21 days to break and form new habits, but when you can see and feel the difference it won’t feel like a chore. So, when life gives you lemons, make yourself a warm glass of lemon water – your body will thank you for it!

 

6 thoughts on “When Life Gives You Lemons

  1. Hmm.. This is actually rather interesting. I had no idea of the benefits. I usually drink a bottle of water with a lemon slice and a bag of green tea. There’s hardly any flavour, but it tastes so good. Maybe I’ll start doing this after I’m done giving birth.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely loved drinking the water with the green tea bag and lemon slice. I felt more awake and happy and refreshed than I normally would at school, haha. I can’t remember if my face ever became clearer though, you’d think I’d notice since I have a problem with adult acne.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

