The Power of Positive Thinking

Positive thoughts are empowering. They make you feel good. Sometimes, however, that’s easier said than done. Negative thoughts have a nasty habit of sinking their teeth into our brains and it can be challenging to fight them.

Negative cycles

It is easy to get trapped in a cycle of negative thinking. If you are unhappy with yourself, or the situation or lifestyle you find yourself in, negative thoughts have a tendency to manifest and once you get into the habit of thinking negatively, it can be difficult to break free from it.

For centuries our ancestors battled insurmountable odds and dealt with incredible hardships on their quest to create and build our modern world and they faced a host of terrible circumstances. They learnt to expect the worst and as a result, this way of thinking has been passed down from generation to generation. Our instinct is to search out the negative in a situation so we can deal with that part first. Unfortunately, the negative thoughts linger, which attract more negative thoughts and before you know it the snowball effect has become an avalanche and we become buried beneath a seemingly immovable mountain of unhappy thoughts.

Misery loves company

Nothing comes more naturally when you are feeling down than to feed off the unhappiness of others. What can be a little more challenging, and can take some practice but will ultimately change the way you think, is to rewire your brain. You can achieve this by focusing on the positive; not letting negative thoughts creep into your mind; removing all doubt in your capabilities and consistently keeping up with your progress. Your brain is an incredibly clever organ and will relearn this new way of thinking in no time.

Eliminate stress

One of the biggest enhancers of negative thinking is stress. Stress does terrible things to our bodies on a physical, mental and emotional level and as we know, these are all effected by each other. Try to remember that situations or events in themselves are not stressful. The way we interpret the situation is what determines the amount of stress we attach to it. Through the power of positive thinking you will be better able to handle situations that at one time may have caused you stress. By thinking positive and empowering thoughts you will attract more positive and empowering thoughts, people and experiences to you.

Open yourself up to vulnerability20170510_131948

Opening yourself up to vulnerability can seem like a daunting prospect. As humans we are taught to be resilient, to not show weakness, to stand strong in the face of adversity. We push our emotions to the side, bottle our feelings up and refuse to show them. This leads to an increase in negative thinking, an overflow of resentment and exhaustion. Understand that allowing yourself to show that hidden side of you is not a weakness, but a strength. You have the ability to learn and grow and that is a remarkable thing. There is a fear that showing your softer side, or opening yourself up to vulnerability will also open you up to misunderstanding, criticism or labelling. That people will think you are different. Different is a good thing!

Start by being honest with yourself. This can be uncomfortable but I promise you, it is worth it. Talk to people, let your guard down. By allowing yourself to be vulnerable you may very well be helping others let go of their insecurities, too.

Find your passion

Find something that makes you happy. Whether it is devouring book after book, or creating delicious cakes or building a paradise of plants in your garden. You might love singing, or writing, or building things from scratch. You don’t have to be good at it either; that’s not what is important. Discover what it is that feeds your soul, what lights the fire in your belly, what makes you excited to begin each day. Try things you’ve never tried before; revisit things you have. Surround yourself with positivity and you can’t help but have positive thoughts.

Be the you that only you can be

Our lives can be difficult at times and it is so easy to lose focus and become lost, to throw away our ambitions and get trapped in a cycle of negative thinking. You are a divine being and you have the power to break that cycle. Change the way you think, surround yourself with positive people, find your passion and make time for yourself to breathe. Now is the time for change, to be the person you are destined to be.

 

 

 

 

 

35 thoughts on “The Power of Positive Thinking

  1. Nikki, it seems to me we are forever invited to find some point of balance between being positive and acknowledging suffering. I like to think about the problem as one of balance; we find balance, and like all complex systems, immediately lose it again. Life is, I guess, a zig-zag path of returning to balance.

    Thanks for following my blog!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. You are right in that, although I do believe we get to choose how much attention and emotion we attach to the positive and to the suffering 🙂 Thank you for reading my post 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey dear ❤️

    Your Blog is wonderful and awesome awakening the inner self……
    Keep on writing and best Bogs won’t attract much likes or comments but the true people will come and praise your worthy writing always…
    Learn to love ❤️ the unknown
    Learn to forgive the biggest enemy
    Learn to live and let live All….
    Be true in words
    Be humble and compassionate to the one ☝🏾 who needs your love ❤️ most because I remember a small story from my own life…..

    That was long back……
    To be continued……

    CreativeSiba

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I have people that I love dearly who call with their most negative minded, caustic, and self-defeating clatter over and over. I try to steer them to the positive side, but if they do not see an immediate result they fall back into their own trap. A person cannot be negative and caustic for 60 years and expect to undo that in one day. But the sad thing is, if they would keep trying even for one hour of every day, their lives could be so much better.
    I love these people is the only reason I listen to them but they will never change and that breaks my heart. I often have to meditate after a call to drag myself out of their pit.
    I suppose they have taught me a lesson. They taught me how I should not be. But the cost for them is very high. It is the black cloud that will follow them all the days of their lives.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have people like that as well in my life and they are people that I love so it is difficult to turn my back on them. I realise that I cannot force them to change; I can be an example if they choose to follow. I also accept them for who they are, limitations and all. I don’t pretend that they will be different, that they will change. But I love them and they are who they are and I choose to walk away when it becomes too much for me. Self-preservation is not a bad thing. They are lucky to have you in their lives.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Very good points and all worthwhile. Positivity is just so important. I have also found in my 60+ years on the planet that it is important to be around other people who are positive. I have reached the point where I just do not encourage negative people to be around and stay away from them as much a possible. If I am in a situation where I must be around someone with negative energy I try to send them love. I’m am not too proficient at this yet but I do see that it works.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Exactly right, why would you choose to be anything but positive? And I absolutely encourage establishing boundaries; if you want to be negative that’s great, but go do it over there. Love is so important; at the end of the day, that is the only thing we take with us when we leave this place.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. My goodness, this is such a valuable post. You have a way of explaining the whys so clearly and simply. This will help a lot of people. I had a very long journey to the realizations found in this post. I hope that everyone can get there sooner, wherever there is. So much happiness can be found my refocusing the mind from the negative. We have to always acknowledge it and let it have its time, but our brains are powerful for the positive and the negative. We have power to alter it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Surrounding oneself with positive people is the part I’ve always found to be the hardest. I think my problem has been that I’m looking for others to influence me to be the person I want to be. But I become dependent on people who may not feel the same about me, and I also end up blaming people sometimes for who they are, because they influence me to be like them (I’m particularly empathetic, I think, to a fault – why I need a certain measure of solitude on a regular basis to be myself). In the end, I feel like I need to be my unique self, independent, confident, strong, and influence others rather than relying on them for what I want to be. But, Ideally, it is a trade, right?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ideally, yes. It takes time and practice to be able to give parts of yourself (energy, affection, time) without feeling like you’re losing something. And some people will never be able to give you what you need; but we also need to learn that we can take what we need from many people, and we can give what we choose to give without sacrificing too much. That’s the goal, anyway 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    2. I think i feel the same.i depend too much on other people, i look in other people for insoiration and that did help me but after some time, i lose all the motivation.positive thinking is a great and beneficial habit which help us alot in the long run but we cannot deny the fact the we adopt negative thinking more quickly than any other habit.and no doubt replacing negative thoughts with positive ones is a bit challenging.i also tend to suffer fron negative thinking, often blaming myself for others behaviour and rely too much on others.but i am working on that.your ending words are quite relatable to me

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for sharing your words with me 🙂 Negative thinking is really addictive and can be a difficult habit to break. Being aware is half the battle, and choosing to make better choices, especially when it comes to not being so hard on ourselves, is challenging but so rewarding! Thank you for reading x

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Very lovely and insightful post. One day I hope to have my own garden, so I can plant all the lovely flowers in the world. Love the words following Vulnerability. This is especially true when it comes to love. We set ourselves up to be vulnerable. But it feels amazing to let loose and be care free. Positive thinking. Love this. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love these steps for leading to positive thinking. I really appreciate your honesty in opening up about negative thinking and how to turn that around. I often feel that as I write about positive thinking people assume I am only ever positive. It’s tricky finding the balance of truth and vulnerability. Thank you for this post!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. “It is easy to get trapped in a cycle of negative thinking. If you are unhappy with yourself, or the situation or lifestyle you find yourself in, negative thoughts have a tendency to manifest and once you get into the habit of thinking negatively, it can be difficult to break free from it.” This is so true. It starts with one or two small negative thoughts and can lose yourself in negative energy and thoughts. Well written here.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

